Intervju med Lindsay Pulsipher

FearNet har intervjuat Lindsay Pulsipher. De pratar om hennes karaktär, alltså om hennes bakgrund och mycket mer! Intressant intervju måste jag säga. ;)
Linsday Pulsipher in True Blood

True Blood's Jason Stackhouse hasn't exactly had a lot of luck with women, having hooked up with everyone from psychopaths to religious zealots to ladies of, shall we say, dubious moral virtue. But that might be changing with the introduction of Crystal Norris, the lovely young addition to True Blood's cast in this, the show's third season. This morning I chatted with the actress who plays Crystal Norris, Lindsay Pulsipher, and was happy to find she's not only smart, funny and a fan of horror films, but that a hardcore horror classic is her favorite within the genre. Hit the jump to read our conversation.

Your character is new to the show. Can you talk a little bit about her background?

Sure, she kind of comes from this Christian compound in the sticks of Louisiana, the backwoods; and [she's had] a pretty sheltered life. She's had to learn to grow up pretty quickly. Yeah, she's a pretty colorful character. She's in the books. She comes in in the fourth book.

Can you comment on how your portrayal and the show's portrayal of the character might differ from that in the books?

Sure. When I got the part I was a fan of the show. I hadn't read the books yet, and I kind of made a conscious decision not to read Charlaine [Harris]'s depiction of Crystal first, because I kind of wanted to see her through the eyes of the writers – Alan Ball and the other writers of the show – and kind of create my own perception of her. I started to read the books. I actually haven't gotten to [my] book yet, but I'm very excited to kind of see her through Charlaine right now, as well.

Since you were a fan of the show beforehand, had you a favorite character?

I think that Lafayette is just amazing. I think that that character is just so great. Both written and the way that Nelsan plays him. I just think he's so great, so funny.

Were you a fan of the fantasy and horror genres in general? Growing up were you drawn to movies or books with this subject matter?

Yeah, I mean, I'm a huge B-horror fan. I love all the horror films from the 70's, so that definitely got me into something I've always loved. The whole world of vampires is kind of new to me. I didn't think it was ever particularly important or interesting, but I can see why people love it and it's definitely an interesting subject matter, for sure.

Do you have a favorite horror movie?

Yes, I think my favorite horror movie is also one of my favorite films ever made, and that's the originalTexas Chainsaw Massacre. I just think that it's so beautifully shot and that grainy, old film… I just love it. It's one of my favorite films of all time. I just think it's so beautiful. [Laughs.]

You have excellent taste. It's a masterpiece.

Yeah! [Laughs.]

Obviously you can't spoil things, but can you discuss your character's arc this season?  Where we might see her go?

Yeah, she kind of comes from this meth lab; this compound she never really left, and so I think that deep down inside her she kind of is longing for a life outside of that, and when she meets Jason for the first time she's kind of contemplating life outside of this compound. This season focuses on her and Jason's relationship, and if they can make it work – if it is going to work – and if she can kind of leave this world behind that she's always known. So she definitely has some surprises and secrets along the way, but she's she's struggling with this relationship.

Jason's had some questionable taste in women and has been a little unlucky in love.

[Laughs.] Yeah.

What is it about your character that complements him?

Well, I can't say. I can't really speak for Ryan [Kwanten] and Jason the character, but I feel like for the first time he's kind of maybe swept off his feet; and he just kind of is looking at Crystal as this new way of life. It's new for him. He's not really sure how to handle true love, I don't think, and I think that, for him, Crystal is maybe the real deal. She could be the one.

Can you talk a little bit about working with Ryan? Because he's developed this amazing character that's almost Shakespearean in its tragedy and comedy.

[Laughs.] That's so true!

Can you tell us what that experience might have been like?

Watching him work has just been amazing because he's very spontaneous as far as acting goes. He always has these little spontaneous looks or improv that he does. He just knows his character so well – knows Jason so well – that he just lives through him. It's really amazing to watch. A lot of it is the writing and a lot of it is him. He's pretty incredible, excellently cast, and very funny. [Laughs.] Sometimes I have to catch myself from actually bursting out laughing while we're shooting 'cause he's just so funny.

In real life, what's your greatest fear?

[Laughs.] Believe it or not, blood, draining blood through a needle. Biggest fear ever. I will start hyperventilating.

It's funny that you mention that. That's one of my terrors.

Oh is it?

Totally. The thing about it that always freaks me out is how they use the same size needle for people who have arms like wrestlers as they do for people like me who are ninety-eight-pound weaklings.

I know! Me too, I'm a ninety-eight-pound weakling myself. I'm glad somebody shares my fear 'cause it's a big one.

Can you say what's next for you, what other projects you might be working on right now?

Yeah, I have a few things in the works right now, and I'm just ready to hit the ground running and get back into work again. Before we started shooting True Blood I did a couple feature films. One is called Do Not Disturb. It's a Mali Elfman film. It's sort of a vignette of short films that they edited into a feature, and that should also be doing the festival circuit later this year. I didn't have a lot of character development in the story, but it's kind of a sci-fi theme, and it's really funny. The whole idea is really great, and my segment is definitely the weirdest of the five. [Laughs.] It's kind of a sci-fi throwback to ‘60s sci-fi stuff… So I've got a couple things in the works and a couple things about to do the festivals.

True Blood grows its audience exponentially with each new season, and right now excitement's at a fever pitch. I'm sure you're pretty busy right now, so thank you for taking the time to do this interview.

I'm so happy to do it. It's cool that you guys cover one of my favorite genres. [Laughs.] I'm more than happy to oblige.

It takes a special kind of person to name Texas Chainsaw as their favorite movie.

I know, right! [Laughs.] Well, thank you so much, Joe.

[Källa]

Kommentarer

- Om du tar text eller bilder från oss så ange oss som källa, tack.


Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0